Spring Fling

Happy Spring everyone! The temperature might not be with us yet but that sunshine sure warms our hearts. This post is a hodgepodge of things that have come across my radar in the past couple of weeks. So without further ado, I fling some webby things, something about poetry and some event reminders your way.

cgi-girl.jpg

1. Realistic CGI girl: Isn’t she amazing? This one is from Boing Boing – they called her “creepily realistic”. I don’t know much about her, according to Boing Boing she was made in Brazil. I highlight her here just to show you how far computer graphics are coming along. At first glance she certainly is “creepily realistic” and if my name were Julia Roberts, I might be a little worried.

2. I don’t know about the rest of you but sometimes managing my email just about makes me cry. Just so you don’t have to consider email bankruptcy (i.e. just giving up & not communicating by email anymore like Stanford computer science professor Donald E. Knuth) here are some great tips from the folks at the Read Write Web. Now that the semester is almost done and I’ve got spring and summer to re-group, I vow to adopt the GTD method. I’ll let ya know in September if I’ve succeeded or failed (or is that achieved deferred success?).

3. Tame the Web pointed me to the School Library Journal website and this great little “sub-notebook” computer, the ASUS Eee PC 701. It’s about half the size of a regular laptop but bigger than PDA. It comes fully loaded with a Linux operating system, OpenOffice software suite and ready to surf the ‘net. For under $500USD it sounds like a great option for people on the go. If you’re a big fan of Microsoft & compatibles, Linux and Microsoft are not friends, tread lightly, it might not be the new toy for you. Wouldn’t it be cool if school boards could equip students with something like this?

4. It’s National Poetry Month in Canada. Get out and enjoy some poetry readings, host your own, read a poem, write a poem, have your students write a poem. Something, anything to celebrate poetry.

Events:

Don’t forget to register for This is I.T. The annual college conference soon to be known as Advancing Learning is being hosted here at Mohawk this year. Go here for more information.

It’s almost the end of the semester and our chances to learn are coming up, check the PD calendar for more info on Connections, e-learning week and more.

Comments are closed.

