Helping students succeed one guide at a time

December 1, 2014

Need some math, writing or technical help? The Mohawk College Library can still help! We have self-help Student Success Subject Guides to get you through during a late night study session.

Our Math Help Subject Guide covers topics from all disciplines. If you are a business, nursing or technical and skilled trades student, there is a page for you. Each pages offers a variety of e-books, videos, and tutorials to help you solve that tough math question. Many of the video resources are free to use online.

Need some tips on how to format your essay? Need to cite your sources using APA or IEEE citation styles? Try the Writing Skills Subject Guide. This guide provides information on grammar and spelling, report writing tips many of the resources are online.  Also included is a section on plagiarism and how to avoid it and a page on how to use the plagiarism tool Turnitin. Turnitin is a tool many faculty use to detect plagiarism in students’ essays. As a student you can use this tool to check your paper for plagiarism before you turn in your assignment.

The Tech Support Subject Guide will provide guidance on using eLearn, ePortfolios, MOCOmotion,  just to name a few. As a Mohawk College student you can download a copy of Office 365 and AutoCAD. Instructions can be found on this guide. Printing locations, wireless printing and printing at the IAHS campus are also highlighted. Instructions for logging into OntarioLearn are included for our distance education students.

These guides are just the tip of the iceberg;  a Subject Guide has been created for most Mohawk College programs. Each guide is filled with links to books, magazines, online videos and websites all carefully chosen for your assignment needs. Check them out for yourself or come into any campus library location for a one-on-one tour of your Subject Guide. We are always happy to help in person, by phone or by text/chat.


In the City: CP Holiday Train supports local food banks

November 28, 2014

CPHolidayTrain

This weekend in the city, embrace the spirit of giving and visit the Canadian Pacific Holiday Train!  Since 1999, the CP Holiday Train is North America’s longest rolling food bank fundraiser.  This annual program has raised nearly $9.5 million and 3.3 million pounds of food.

The CP Holiday Train is stopping in Hamilton this Sunday, November 30th, at Kinnear Yard, opposite Gage Park.  The festivities start at 7:30 p.m., with the train expected to arrive by 7:45 p.m., including entertainment by ​Kira Isabella.  The concert is free, but attendees are encouraged to make a cash or non-perishable food donation to Hamilton Food Share, which will be on site at the event.

The Holiday Train reminds us that even during this hectic time of year, there are families in need in our own community.  Supporting Hamilton Food Share, or any local food bank, helps to provide a nourishing meal to those who are at risk of going without.

To help you get informed about these issues, Mohawk College Library has a subject guide on poverty.  The guide includes an infographic about poverty in Canada, books, e-books, videos, websites, and much more.  A special investigation series, CODE Red Hamilton, from The Hamilton Spectator, provides interesting information about the lives of people living in Hamilton neighbourhoods.

So kick off the season by giving back to those in need, and support the Hamilton Food Share fundraiser at the CP Holiday Train event.  Take a picture with the Holiday Train and share it with us via Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

 


Power Engineering at Mohawk College

November 17, 2014

Have you ever wondered what’s involved in keeping an industrial plant working? Complex equipment and systems are at the heart of every bustling production facility. Learn how to control and maintain these critical components in Mohawk’s Power Engineering Techniques certificate program. Power Engineering Techniques is a one year certificate course that prepares you to successfully write your Technical Standards and Safety Authority 4th Class Operating Engineering and Oil Burner Technician III examinations.

Mohawk College provides a hands on educational experience. Theory classes are mixed with lab time and a work term experience. Our new boiler lab will be ready for use in January 2015. We are all excited to provide this new real world experience to our students.

From classic titles like MacNaughton’s Elementary steam power engineering to the DVD series, Boiler operations, the Stoney Creek Library and Collaboratory has the resources to help you. Prefer online resources? We have those too. Our Power Engineering Techniques Subject Guide has a large selection of training videos, current codes & regulations, a large selection of online books and more.

boiler


In the city: Protect yourself this flu season

November 14, 2014

As the weather grows colder, flu season begins.  Protecting yourself and others around you from the flu virus is important for our overall health and wellness.

Influenza, most commonly referred to as the flu, is a respiratory illness caused by a virus.  Symptoms may include: fever, chills, muscle aches, headache, runny nose, sore throat, cough, weakness and tiredness.  The flu virus is spread through contact with people or surfaces that have been contaminated with the virus.

You can help prevent the spread of the flu:

– get your flu shot every fall

– wash your hands

– cover your cough and sneeze with something other than your hands

– stay home when you are sick

The vaccine is widely available in the city of Hamilton; to find a free flu shot location near you, click here.  For more information about influenza, getting your flu shot at Mohawk College, or other health related topics, check out the Wellness4U@Mohawk web site.

Mohawk College Library can help you protect yourself this flu season.  The video Resisting the flu: How to minimize your risk provides habits to improve your resistance, tips on how to take care of people who are infected, and covers mild and severe symptoms.  The Health, Wellness, & Fitness subject guide includes great library resources to keep you healthy this flu season and all year round!

 


In the city: Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra

October 17, 2014

Ray_Charles

This weekend in the city,  Mohawk College and the Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra (HPO) celebrate a jazz legend as they present Ray Charles: A Tribute at Hamilton Place on Saturday, October 18th at 7:30 p.m. (doors open at 6:00 p.m.).  The program features favourite songs from Charles’ repertoire and original arrangements from artistic director Matt Catingub starring singer Joni NehRita and Grammy-nominated drummer Steve Moretti.  This program is packed with classic Ray Charles songs like Hallelujah, I Love Her So, Georgia On My Mind and Hit the Road Jack.  Mohawk guests are also invited to a Motown themed after party at Hamilton Place.  Tickets are free but limited.  Students can call the box office at (905) 526-7756 to reserve their seats!

Mohawk College Library has resources for jazz musicians and for those of you that just appreciate the music.  The Music subject guide is a great place to start; it contains books, e-books, music scores, jazz CDs, and so much more!  Discover something new about jazz music or your favourite jazz musician with resources from the our collection.

If you plan on attending this exciting event, be sure to let us know!  You can find us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.


In the city: Dundas Studio Tour

October 3, 2014

dundas

This weekend in the city, discover something new at the 2014 Dundas Studio Tour. This event is held Saturday, October 4th and Sunday, October 5th, from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. daily.  The theme this year is “Turning Up the Heat”  which “…calls to mind the jeweller’s torch, the potter’s and glass-maker’s fire, the warm feel of fabric, glowing colours from a paintbrush, and the great passion involved in an artisans creations.”

You can enjoy food samples, and purchase works of art, including: pottery, weaving, textiles, jewellery, blown glass, and more.  Check out the event webpage for more details about this event.

Mohawk College Library has a number of resources to help you “turn up the heat” on your own artistic creations!  The eJournal Portal offers a variety of titles; discover a new magazine or journal on art, architecture & applied arts.  The Art & Design Foundations subject guide includes books, e-books, videos, and websites.  The library catalogue is always a great place to search for resources!  Search using keywords, subjects, titles, or authors to find what you are looking for.


In the city: AGH Film Festival

September 26, 2014

This week in the city, we are rolling out the red carpet for the AGH Film Festival!

Web

The Art Gallery of Hamilton is celebrating the art of cinematography by hosting this annual event, which is meant to showcase the world’s best festival films. This year’s films include a diverse range of outstanding films, many of which were official selections at some of the top international film festivals, such as TIFF, Cannes, and Sundance, to name a few.  The festival runs from September 26th to October 5th, and is featured at downtown and other Hamilton theatres.  There are thirty films on the roster this year, and the official opening night party will be taking place tonight at the AGH.  You can preview film trailers, and pre-purchase tickets online; check out the Films + Trailers webpage for more information.

index  Whether you are a film buff, or just starting out in videography, Mohawk College Library has resources to support your passion for film-making.  The Broadcasting – Television & Communications Media subject guide offers books, e-books, journals, videos, and websites.  The e-book The technique of film and video editing: History, theory, and practice provides a detailed, precise look at the artistic and aesthetic principles and practices of editing for both picture and sound.  This is a great resource to help develop your editing skills!  The library database, Films On Demand, contains over 7,500 online videos, and with a variety of subject areas, you are sure to discover something new.

Will you be seeing any of the films at this year’s festival?  Be sure to tell us about the film screenings you attend – we would love to hear about it!